Admirals Court, located in Bridgwater in the county of Somerset, is a Grade II listed 19th century warehouse building completed in 1841. For years it was used as factory, however, it was then converted into 28 flats in the 1980s with a ground floor pub/restaurant and first floor commercial unit.
When originally built with the dock in 1841, the warehouse had only three bays, with two being added later. It is possible that the bricks were made of clay from in the dock basin, and fired in a brickworks set up by the Canal Company to use the spoil from the excavations.
The dock is now used for canoe clubs and boat docking, with the vibrant local area boosted by the ground floor pub amply named “Admiral’s Tavern”, which keeps much of the traditional public house look. The residential common parts are a great combination of the retained/ exposed roof trusses and a more modern touch, including plastered/ painted walls and bespoke carpeting.
This was not one of EK RCA’s standard instructions, however it as fascinating in its own right. A rich building history is always interesting to a building surveyor.Contact Us